Roswell Workers’ Comp: Doctor Reports in 2026

Listen to this article · 10 min listen

In a Roswell, Georgia workers’ compensation claim, everything comes down to your doctor’s report. This medical evidence dictates your treatment authorization and what your case is in the end worth. Understanding what’s in these reports and how an insurance company might use them isn’t just a good idea, it’s essential for getting fair compensation after a workplace injury. These medical narratives define the entire path of your claim.

Key Takeaways

  • The success of your Georgia workers’ comp claim hangs on the specific details in your doctor’s reports, especially the diagnosis and any permanent impairment rating.
  • Vague or conflicting information in a doctor’s report is a common reason for claim denials and long delays, which means you have to communicate proactively with both your doctor and your lawyer.
  • A good workers’ comp attorney can translate the complex medical terms, push back against a bad report, and make sure your medical records strongly support your right to benefits.
  • In Georgia, professionals rely on standard manuals like the Official Disability Guidelines (ODG) and the American Medical Association (AMA) Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment to assess work restrictions.
  • Keeping up with all your medical appointments and clearly explaining your symptoms and physical limits directly impacts how strong and convincing your doctor’s reports will be.

Case Study 1: The Ambiguous Diagnosis and Delayed Treatment

We had a case with a 42-year-old warehouse worker from Fulton County, let’s call him Mark. In early 2025, he tore his rotator cuff lifting boxes at a distribution center near Holcomb Bridge Road. He did everything right: told his supervisor immediately and went to the ER at North Fulton Hospital. But the first report just said “shoulder pain” without diagnosing the tear, only recommending a follow-up. That one word, “pain,” created a huge problem.

Injury Type and Circumstances: A witnessed incident where Mark felt a sudden, sharp pain in his right shoulder during an overhead lift.

Challenges Faced: The workers’ comp insurer seized on the vague ER report and would only approve conservative treatment like physical therapy, arguing there was no proof of a serious injury. Mark’s pain wasn’t getting better, but his requests for an MRI got denied for weeks because the adjuster kept pointing to that initial doctor’s report. The insurer’s position was that the report didn’t provide proof to justify an MRI, a classic tactic to delay paying for more expensive diagnostics.

Legal Strategy Used: Mark hired our firm, Bader Law, and one of the first things we did was get in touch with his authorized treating orthopedist. We needed a more detailed report, fast. We had the doctor document the suspected rotator cuff tear from his own clinical exam and state in no uncertain terms why an MRI was necessary for a final diagnosis and to plan treatment. We also made sure to tie it directly to the lifting incident Mark had described. Our team then formally demanded the MRI authorization, referencing O.C.G.A. Section 34-9-200 (the employer’s duty to provide medical care). When the insurer still dragged their feet, we filed a Form WC-PM-1 to force the issue with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation.

Outcome and Timeline: After we got involved, the MRI was finally approved, and it confirmed a full-thickness rotator cuff tear. Mark had surgery, but it was about four months after he first got hurt. That delay not only extended his recovery but also increased the amount of temporary disability benefits he was owed. The post-surgery doctor’s report, with its clear restrictions and prognosis, was then key to keeping his weekly checks coming. The case eventually settled in the $75,000 to $95,000 range, which covered his medical costs, lost income, and permanent disability. The whole process took around 18 months, a timeline stretched out almost entirely by those initial delays in getting a proper diagnosis.

Case Study 2: The Unclear Return-to-Work Restrictions

Sarah, a 35-year-old admin for a Roswell tech company, developed bad carpal tunnel in both wrists from her keyboard-heavy job in mid-2024. Her doctor performed surgery on her dominant hand and she was recovering, but the surgeon’s return-to-work note was a mess. It just said “light duty as tolerated,” a phrase that sounds helpful but gave the employer and insurer way too much wiggle room.

Injury Type and Circumstances: Bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome, clearly from constant computer work at her office near the Chattahoochee River.

Challenges Faced: Her employer brought her back on “modified duty” but had her doing a lot of typing, claiming it fell under “light duty as tolerated.” Of course, Sarah’s symptoms flared up immediately. The insurer then threatened to cut off her benefits, accusing her of refusing suitable work. The vague doctor’s report, with no hard limits, gave them all the use they needed to put her in an impossible position.

Legal Strategy Used: When Sarah called us, we immediately contacted her surgeon to get a new, much more specific doctor’s report. Instead of “as tolerated,” we asked for concrete, objective limits like “no repetitive wrist flexion/extension for more than 15 minutes per hour,” “no lifting over 5 pounds,” and “mandatory 10-minute breaks every hour.” This is the kind of detail you need. We also made sure the doctor was prepared to give an impairment rating using the American Medical Association (AMA) Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, 6th Edition, once she hit maximum medical improvement (MMI). We also told Sarah to keep going to every single therapy appointment to build a consistent record. That specific wording was what protected her rights.

Outcome and Timeline: With a new, detailed doctor’s report in hand, the employer had no choice but to provide a work setup that actually fit her restrictions. Her benefits continued without a problem. After reaching MMI, her doctor assigned a 10% permanent partial disability rating to her dominant hand. We settled her case for between $40,000 and $55,000 which accounted for her permanent impairment and future medical needs for her other hand. From the time of injury to settlement, it took about 14 months.

Case Study 3: The Pre-Existing Condition Defense

In late 2025, a 58-year-old construction worker from the Crabapple area named David hurt his lower back badly lifting materials on a job site off Alpharetta Highway. David had a history of degenerative disc disease, and the insurer saw that in his records and immediately denied the claim. They argued it was just his old back problem acting up, not a new injury from work.

Injury Type and Circumstances: A specific lifting incident at work that caused a lumbar strain and a new disc herniation on top of his underlying condition.

Challenges Faced: The denial was based entirely on David’s past medical history. The insurer’s playbook was to claim the work incident wasn’t a cause, just a trigger for symptoms that were going to happen anyway. The first doctor’s report he got from an urgent care clinic didn’t help. It was short and didn’t clearly state that the lifting event caused the acute herniation, which made the insurer’s denial look stronger.

Legal Strategy Used: This situation required a very specific legal and medical game plan. We worked directly with David’s orthopedist to build a rock-solid doctor’s report. The report had to do one thing very clearly: explain that even though David had a pre-existing condition, the work incident caused a brand new injury (the herniation) or, at the very least, a major aggravation far beyond normal progression. We had the doctor state with medical certainty that the work lift was the “proximate cause” of the new, disabling symptoms. This often involves getting the old imaging studies and putting them side-by-side with the new ones to show the physical change. We also got an opinion on his work restrictions based on the Official Disability Guidelines (ODG), which the State Board recognizes.

Outcome and Timeline: Faced with a powerful doctor’s report that completely dismantled their pre-existing condition defense, the insurer had to accept the claim. David got the treatment he needed, which ended up being a lumbar fusion, and his weekly disability checks were reinstated. His case settled for a large amount, in the $120,000 to $150,000 range, because of the serious nature of the surgery and his permanent restrictions. The fight took about two years from injury to settlement, mostly because of that initial denial and the complex medical evidence we had to build to beat it.

These cases all show one thing: the words in your doctor’s report are what make or break a Georgia workers’ compensation claim. Insurance adjusters are paid to read these reports and find any ambiguity or omission to deny payment. Just going to the doctor isn’t enough. You have to make sure the medical record accurately shows how the injury happened at work and how it affects your ability to do your job. Without clear details and a strong link to the work incident, even a perfectly valid claim can get shut down. This is where a lawyer comes in, to make sure the medical evidence is framed correctly for the legal standards in Georgia’s workers’ compensation system.

FAQ Section

What Needs to Be in My Doctor’s Report?

Your report needs to have a specific diagnosis (with ICD-10 codes), how the injury happened, objective findings from tests like an MRI, a direct statement linking the injury to your work, clear work restrictions, and a treatment plan. It should also give a prognosis, including an estimate of when you’ll reach maximum medical improvement (MMI).

What to Do if Your Doctor’s Report Is Vague?

First, try talking to your doctor. Explain what’s missing or unclear and why it’s important for your claim. If you’re not getting anywhere or the doctor won’t make the changes, you need to call a lawyer. A lawyer can communicate with the doctor’s office on your behalf or help you get a second opinion from another doctor on the employer’s panel.

Choosing Your Doctor in a Georgia WC Case

In Georgia, you usually don’t get to pick any doctor you want. Your employer has to give you a list (called a “panel of physicians”) of at least six doctors to choose from. Your treatment is only covered if you pick a doctor from that list. If they don’t give you a valid list, then you might have more freedom to choose.

Impairment Ratings and Why They Matter

An impairment rating is the percentage of permanent damage your work injury caused, as determined by your doctor once you’ve healed as much as you’re going to (this is MMI). It’s a number that’s tied to a body part or your body as a whole. That percentage is plugged into a formula under Georgia workers’ compensation law to calculate your permanent partial disability (PPD) benefits, which is a key part of your settlement.

Following Up With Your Doctor

You have to go to every single appointment the doctor schedules, follow-ups, physical therapy, everything. If you start missing appointments, the insurance company will argue you’re not really hurt or that you aren’t cooperating with treatment. It’s one of the easiest ways for them to try and justify cutting off your benefits, so don’t give them the chance.

Editorial Team

The Editorial Team at Work Injury Roswell is a group of writers and editors who cover personal injury and workplace law in Georgia. They research each story and publish under a shared desk byline — experts in their fields, working as one team.